Tuesday, January 24, 2006

According to Ken Rosenthal, the Sox will look to move Graffanino once they sign A-Gonz due to a glut of middle infielders. The Mets should jump on that. Seems like a better option than Kaz Matbooi or Bret Boo-ne.

Bonds is out of the WBC, and Pedro indicated that he'll be in. The momentum shifts back to DR.

And the Benson trade? Eh, as much as Julio sucks, I don't think it's a bad deal. Benson's a mediocre starter and makes $7 mill a year. And this Maine guy sounds like has a chance to be a mediocre starter himself. If we still had Seo, I think I'd like this trade. Damn Seo trade!

Tuesday, January 10, 2006

these awards don't compare to the stickball awards.

stickball hall of fame?

may be an old topic, but now that piazza's met tenure is over, i have my doubts that he will go in as a met. his most memorable moments came as a met, and he spend equal time with both the dodgers and mets, but his best years came with the dodgers. looks like we'll be stuck at one hall-of-famer, and he won't let us forget it, big-boy.

is bob murphy in the HOF?

Monday, January 09, 2006

First Annual Montgomery Burns Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Excellence

Willie McGee a Hall of Famer?
What are some of these writers thinking????
I was looking at some of the past voting records, and Joe DiMaggio didn't get in on his first try!!! Neither did Yogi Berra!! 10 World Series!! Probably the best catcher baseball had ever seen in his time.

For what it's worth, if I had a BBWAA card, I'd be voting for Dawson, Blyleven, Rice, John, and probably Gossage too. I always think that pitchers get the short staff when it comes to the Hall of Fame.

Hey Ryan-
The Hutch Award was created and given to the Major League ballplayer that best exemplifies the fighting spirit and competitive desire of the late Fred Hutchinson.

The Lou Gehrig Memorial Award was created by Phi Delta Theta International Fraternity to recognize the Major League Baseball Player who best exemplifies the spirit and character of Lou Gehrig, Columbia '25, both on and off the field.

Babe Ruth Award was discontinued aftrer 2002, and was awarded by the NY chapter of BBWAA to honor the player they felt was the World Series MVP. The last winner...David Eckstein.

Roberto Clemente Award is not given for the best tragic plane crash death...(from mlb.com) "The Roberto Clemente Award presented by John Hancock is given annually to a player who demonstrates the values Clemente displayed in his commitment to community and understanding the value of helping others."